National Council of the Slovak Republic

Národná rada Slovenskej republiky
Contact: Dr Pavol Hrušovský Chairman


Námestie Alexandra Dubčeka 1, 812 80 Bratislava, Slovakia
421 (0) 2 5972 1111, 421 (0) 2 5972 1112
421 (0) 2 5441 9529

National Council of the Slovak Republic is the sole constitutional and legislative body of the Slovak Republic. It is the body of state authority and the status of other state bodies in Slovakia is derived from its primary status. As an elected body it represents the sovereignty of the state and of the citizens. It has had an important role in the formation of the Slovak Republic as a modern and democratic state, as well as in the implementation of social and ecologically-oriented market economy. Members of the Parliament are elected by universal, equal and direct suffrage by secret ballot. There are 150 Members of Parliament elected for a four-year term.

The Powers of the National Council are determined by its constitutional status within the system of exercise of power. It is divided into: (i) Legislative power; (ii) Power of scrutiny; (iii) Power to create state bodies; and (iv) Domestic and foreign policy powers.

The National Council also discharges its power through elections, which is assigned to it by respective laws (Act no 80/1990 Coll. on Elections to the Slovak National Council, as amended).