Slovak Television

Slovenská televízia - organizačná zložka Rozhlasu a televízie Slovenska
Contact: Ľuboš Machaj Deputy Director for STV


Mlynská dolina, 845 45 Bratislava, Slovakia
421 (0) 2 6061 1111
421 (0) 2 6061 3004

Slovak Television is a broadcaster established by the law which offers services to the public in the field of television broadcasting and is financed from public sources. From the point of view of geographic access the programme service of Slovak Television is universal, diversified in programme structure and prepared on the basis of editorial independence. The programme structure consists of news, journalistic, documentary, dramatic, artistic, music, sport, entertainment and educational programmes.

The management bodies of Slovak Television are the Director General, the Television Council and the Supervisory Board of Slovak Television. The Television Council has 15 members who are elected by the Slovak National Council. The Council supervises compliance with the law and delivery of the tasks of Slovak Television which follow from special regulations, elects and removes from office the Director General, approves long-term plans and developmental conceptions of Slovak Television's programme service which are proposed by the Director General, and considers complaints and other suggestions relating to the activities of Slovak Television.

Slovak Television broadcasts the television programme services: One (STV), Two (STV) and Three (STV).